Digital Journalism

COM466 – University of Washington

Burke Gilman Trail Final Project, by Brianna Butterfield

My main goal on this assignment was simply to illustrate the issues that the missing link of the Burke Gilman is causing to both business owners in the area and bicyclists, alike. It is clear that a compromise needs to be made. Bicyclists do not feel safe. Business owners feel that the inclusion of the trail would harm bicyclists more due to the business being done with industrial vehicles. I am pleased with my narration and felt that I wrote a clear dialogue to address the issue. I also feel that I was able to give my story balance.

As always, in the future I could improve. For instance, I could have taken pictures of Ballard Oil Co. to give the story more balance. I could have elaborated on the issue in my narration as well. Additionally, I would take the pictures early in the morning to improve the lighting. The lighting is difficult anyway, just with the overcast sky of Seattle.

Filed under: Student Projects

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter #com466

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
