Digital Journalism

COM466 – University of Washington

Week 2 Assignments

This is a summary of assignments due at the start of week 2: 5 April 2010. There was a media consumption survey due Th, Fr and Sa with a followup reflection on Sunday; there was a reading due at 8 am Monday.


Links are as of 10 pm Sunday for media consumption survey; 9.30 am Monday for readings.

  1. Aaron : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  2. Brian : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  3. Brianna : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  4. Emma : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  5. Fereshta : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  6. Ganelle : media consumption survey (1-2-3-4) + reading
  7. Gwen : media consumption survey (1, 2a 2b 2c, 3, 4) + reading
  8. Janelle : media consumption survey (123, 4) + reading
  9. Katie : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  10. Keala : media consumption survey (1, 2-3, 4) + reading
  11. Krista : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  12. Liz : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  13. Nate : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  14. Tom : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading
  15. Wilhelmina : media consumption survey (1, 2, 3, 4) + reading

Week 1 surveys:

  • Knowledge assessment: Aaron missing
  • Skills assessment: Brian, Ganelle, Nate missing

Week 1 readings

  • Missing : Aaron, Janelle, Wilhelmina
  • Late : Brianna

Excerpts from media consumption survey:

Emma (4 of 4)

For Thursday, April 1st, I started the day off by perusing my designated homepage (and favorite local news website) thestranger.com. As they update it every Wednesday evening, there were plenty of new stories to catch my eye. I clicked on and browsed over a few different stories. One was about the Kiki Smith show at the Henry Art Gallery, another a review about a new bar.

Gwen (4 of 4)

I actually read a paper this morning, which I have never read my whole life: The Stranger. I was at Starbucks, had gotten my coffee and a lonely, neglected Stranger was on the table at which I sat down. The front cover pictured a little girl and her mom:“She’s Adorable! Why is Rob McKenna Attacking Her Family?” Of course, since article was on health care, and on the insane Attorney Generals who are trying to repeal the law, I read the story.

Janelle (4 of 4)

Lastly, I read an article in National Geographic about water conservation in New Mexico. I probably spent five to 10 minutes reading this piece but didn’t get all the way through it. Like the Seattle Times article, it’s also not the author’s fault, I just had to get off the bus.

Katie (4 of 4)

As a non-news fanatic, I’m noticing I tend to only look at stories that are extremely convenient to find.  For example, the stories on my e-mail homepage or that are sitting on the kitchen table.  I also usually only choose stories that directly relate to my life or have an absurd teaser headline.  I guess  I am the consumer most editors hate, not willing to spend time reading and mainly interested in fluff.  Uh-oh.

Keala (4 of 4)

From this experiment I know that I receive my hard news from BBC on my phone. The reason is that it has an easy interface for me to browse and pick the articles that I want to read about. In addition, I really don’t have much time throughout the day between school and work to sit down on a computer and read/watch news. The android app makes it easy for me to pick up bits and pieces of information throughout the day. I even discovered a tool this weekend that will allow me to bookmark these news articles so I can refer to them later.

Krista (4 of 4)
(Notice she hyperlinked the story, even though she read it in print)

While sitting at my sorority dining room table, a lone copy of The Seattle Times was sprawled open to the middle of section B. The title “Teen shares scary tale as warning” grabbed my attention as the story was about a legislative act relating to sex trafficking in Washington, which is something I had no clue occurred in our state.

Liz (4 of 4)

So, in an alternate bizarro-world day, I chose social news over societal news. Can I not do both? It seems the answer may be no…between the first week of class, a new internship, and out-of-town VIP guest flying in this evening, this is the level of connectivity I can muster. Perhaps if I get a smartphone, I may get a bit more out of the time I wait for the Redmond 545 bus…But in the final evaluation, the “real” news is minimal at this point, with opinion and human interest scoring high. What did I miss in the real world? I will have to find out tomorrow.

Tom (4 of 4)

Of additional interest was the level of advertising found within each type of media. Traditional print media tended to contain the greatest number of ads, most of which were irrelevant to me. Web on the other hand displayed fewer ads but these were more relevant and allowed for easy engagement should it be desired. I believe, however, that the CNN for iPhone App exampled the greatest implementation of advertising. Ad’s were unobtrusive and pleasantly designed. These Ad’s were also apparently aware of my location and provided information relevant to me at the time.

Filed under: Assignments

Leave a Reply

RSS Twitter #com466

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
